EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.


Light Plane World

[ Home | Subscribe | Issues | Articles | Poll ]

2010 ICAS Hall of Fame Nominations Deadline Extended

The original deadline for the ICAS Foundation Hall of Fame nominations was June 1. Yep, you missed it! Good news – the ICAS Foundation has given you another chance. The new deadline for nominations is July 31. So get on it!

Visit www.ICASFoundation.org/halloffame.htm for the rules and how to nominate. Think about that hero of yours who has helped the air show industry. Now’s your chance to recognize him or her. The ICAS Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization manned by volunteers, some of whom pay their own expenses to the annual ICAS convention just to help raise money for worthy causes. Those causes include helping the members of the air show community who may need unexpected financial assistance due to an illness, accident, or other event. The ICAS Foundation also manages scholarships for young (and not-so-young) persons who are attempting to further their education in things aeronautic or aerobatic.

And if you’ve been to an ICAS convention, you’ve seen the ICAS Foundation induct air show personalities into the Hall of Fame. Typically, up to three persons (or groups) are inducted, all based on nominations from members of the air show community. You don’t need to be an ICAS member to make a nomination. Since the foundation has extended the nomination process to July 31, there’s still time for you to consider nominating a person whom you deem worthy of joining the ranks of previous winners, which include:

2009 – Charlie Culp, Tom Poberezny, Bobby Younkin
2008 – Bessie Coleman, Paul Bowen, Bobby Bishop
2007 – Danny Clisham, Jimmy Driskell, Jimmy Franklin, Sean D. Tucker
2006 – Paul Mantz, Marion Cole, Eddie “The Grip” Green, Patty Wagstaff
2005 – Bill Sweet, Bob Herendeen, Wayne Handley
2004 – Lincoln Beachey, Harold Krier, Jim Holland, Bill Bordeleau, Johnny Kazian
2003 – Jim Mynning, Betty Skelton Frankman
2002 – Swede Ralston, Curtis Pitts, The Original Thunderbirds Team
2001 – Clifford Henderson, Captain Roy M. “Butch” Voris, The Flying Aces Air Circus
2000 – The French Connection (Daniel Heligoin and Montaine Mallet), The Beardsleys (Big B and Burner)
1999 – Colonel Owen Bartley “OB” Philp
1998 – Leo Loudenslager
1997 – Bill Barber, Charlie Hillard, Paul Poberezny
1996 – Duane Cole, Art Scholl, Beverly “Bevo” Howard
1995 – Robert A. “Bob” Hoover.

Quite an impressive list, isn’t it? If you would like to nominate someone, just surf to www.ICASFoundation.org. You’ll find complete details on how to make a nomination online.

Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map