EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.


Light Plane World

Tools:   Bookmark and Share Font Size: default Font Size: medium Font Size: large

[ Home | Subscribe | Issues | Articles | Q&A | Poll ]

Sun ’n Fun 2011 Ultralight and Light-Sport Awards

Russell Duncan
Chief Judge Leonard Kress (left) presents the Grand Champion Ultralight Award to Russell Duncan from Airborne Australia for the T-Lite trike.

The judging of aircraft at the 2011 Sun ’n Fun International Fly-In & Expo was extended one additional day to allow for the time lost during Thursday’s storm. Also, additional late entries arrived Friday after the weather cleared. Sun ’n Fun judging headquarters, located west of the antique aircraft parking, had so much standing water it was said they could have judged the seaplanes right there on the field. Ultralight entries were helped by the fact that many of them could arrive by trailer. Congratulations to the winners!

Grand Champion
2011 Airborne T-Lite trike
Russell Duncan – Asotin, Washington

Reserve Grand Champion
2010 Nirvana Rodeo paramotor
Jared Dewitt – Nokomis, Florida

Best Commercial
2011 Belite Supertrike
James Wiebe – Wichita, Kansas

2011 Hovery hovercraft
Alberto de Castelli – San Paulo, Brazil

Best Type Trike
2011 Skycycle
Michael Theeke – Wildwood, Georgia

Outstanding Fixed Wing
2011 “Lucy Stars” Ringtail
Mark E. Stull – Christoval, Texas

Light-Sport Aircraft

Grand Champion
2011 Evolution trike, N129BD
Larry Mednick – Odessa, Florida

Reserve Grand Champion
2008 Warner Sportster, N69DA
Michael T. Walicke – New Port Richey, Florida

Best Commercial
2011 AL3C, N72ICP
American Legend Aircraft Co. – Sulphur Springs, Texas

Special Award for Innovation
2008 ElectraFlyer, N123EL
Randall Fishman – Vero Beach, Florida

Outstanding New Design
2011 Sport X2 Apache, N437JA
Michael Theeke – Wildwood, Georgia

Outstanding Fixed Wing
2011 U15 Phoenix, N24PG
Jim Lee – Satellite Beach, Florida

Best Materials Kit
1997 Fisher Flying Products FP-202, N217D
Eric Adams – Lakeland, Florida

Special Award – Safety Practices
2007 Allegro, N5616C
B Bar D Aviation Inc. – Sanford, North Carolina


Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map