EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Tools:   Bookmark and Share Font Size: default Font Size: medium Font Size: large

Sharp Claims Another Sport Title At Reno


Jon Sharp flies his Nemesis NXT in the Sport class at Reno last weekend
Jon Sharp flies his Nemesis NXT in the Sport class at Reno last weekend.

Gary Hubler's Cassutt III M Mariah won the Formula 1 Class
Gary Hubler's Cassutt III M Mariah won the Formula 1 Class.

September 19, 2006 — EAA member Jon Sharp returned to the winner's circle at Reno, Nevada, Sunday when he won the Sport Gold Race at Reno's 43rd National Championship Air Races at Stead Airport. Sharp, who won nine Formula 1 class titles in the 1990s with his original Nemesis, flew a Nemesis NXT kitplane to a top speed of 360.389 mph. Rod Von Grote's Lancair Legacy actually posted a faster speed in the Gold race, but he cut a pylon and was penalized, resulting in an official time of 358.557 mph. EAAer John Parker finished third, 350.340 mph, in the Thunder Mustang 'Blue Thunder.'

The original Nemesis was the most successful aircraft in air racing history, winning 45 of its 48 contests from 1991-1999. Sharp flew the aircraft to EAA AirVenture Oshkosh 2000 where it was officially retired and put on temporary display at the EAA AirVenture Museum before being shipped to its permanent location, the National Air and Space Museum in Washington, D.C.

Other 2006 champion EAAers at Reno included:

Formula One: First place - EAAer Gary Hubler flying Mariah Cassutt III M, 257.047 mph. EAAer David Hoover was second in the Arnold AR-6 Endeavor at 254.587 mph.

Biplane: First place - EAAer Tom Aberle flying his Modified Mong Sport Phantom, 251.958. EAAer Jeffrey Lo placed second at 231.685 mph in the Pitts LR-1 Miss Gianna.

Jet: First place - EAAer John Penney flying Pip Squeak L-39, 470.195 mph. Rick Vandam finished second in the American Spirit L-39 at 443.349 mph.

In the Unlimited competition, first place went to Mike Brown, who flew his Hawker Sea Fury September Fury to a top speed of 481.619. Matt Jackson's Dreadnought placed second at 453.559 mph.

Nick Macy, flying Six Cat, 235.609 mph. took first place in the T-6 competition over EAAer Dennis Buehn, who reached 229.100 mph in Midnight Miss III.

For complete race results, visit www.airrace.org.

Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map