EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Tools:   Bookmark and Share Font Size: default Font Size: medium Font Size: large

EAA Director Charlie Precourt Selected for Astronaut Hall of Fame


Charlie Precourt
Charlie Precourt

May 17, 2012 - Congratulations to Charlie Precourt, a member of the EAA board of directors, who was inducted into the prestigious U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame on May 5. Precourt is best known for his 15 years at NASA, where he qualified as a space shuttle astronaut in 1991 and flew on four space shuttle missions, logging more than 932 hours in space. He previously served for 23 years with the U.S. Air Force, retiring as a colonel in March 2000. He is currently vice president and general manager of ATK Aerospace Group's Space Launch Division.

"I feel it is a tremendous honor to be inducted into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame and am pleased and humbled to join my friends and colleagues who have already received this tribute," Precourt said.

Fellow inductees in the class of 2012 included retired astronauts Franklin Chang-Diaz and Kevin Chilton. The three were confirmed as 2012 honorees by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation, which oversees the Hall of Fame's annual selections. The veteran space shuttle crew members will be added to the 79 astronauts enshrined in the Hall of Fame since 1990, including all of NASA's Mercury, Gemini, and Apollo program pioneers.


Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map