EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Tools:   Bookmark and Share Font Size: default Font Size: medium Font Size: large

Marion Blakey to Receive Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy

Marion Blakey
Marion Blakey rides in an ultralight trainer at EAA AirVenture Oshkosh 2004.
Photo credit: Hilary Lawrence

September 26, 2013 - The National Aeronautic Association announced this week that former FAA Administrator Marion Blakey is the recipient of the 2013 Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy.

Blakey served as chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board from 2001-2002, then was appointed FAA administrator from 2002-2007. She attended EAA AirVenture Oshkosh each year from 2003-2007. Since 2007, Blakey has been president/CEO of the Aerospace Industries Association.

During her tenure, the traveling public experienced the safest period for air travel in United States history, and she was a tireless safety advocate internationally. Under her leadership, the FAA launched the Next Generation Air Transportation System.

Walter Boyne, Chairman of the National Aeronautic Association and a member of the Selection Committee, praised the choice. "I couldn't be more pleased with the selection of Marion Blakey for the Wright Trophy," Boyne said. "She has been a public servant of the highest order and one of the leading advocates of our nation's aerospace industry."

Blakey has held six presidential appointments, four of which required Senate confirmation. She also served as administrator of the U.S. Transportation Department's National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and held key positions at the Department of Commerce, the Department of Education, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the White House, and the Department of Transportation.

Blakey will be presented with the award at the Wright Memorial Dinner hosted by the Aero Club of Washington on Friday, December 13.

NAA established this award in 1948 to honor the memory of Orville and Wilbur Wright. The trophy is awarded annually to a living American for "significant public service of enduring value to aviation in the United States."


Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map