

Keith Hill



**Bob Burbick** 



Jack Cornes



Pete Myers



Tom Messick



Glenn Wilson



Marion McClure



Jerry Quarton



Leland Bryan



Archie Yarger

# 7th Annual Fly-In

### **EAA Judges and Awards Committee**

Chairman — Stanley J. Dzik, Milwaukee, Wis.

Co-Chairman — Don B. Simmons, Moncton, N.B., Canada Robert A. Burbick, Arlington, Va.
George Gruenberger, Milwaukee, Wis.
Charles Schuck, Arlington, Va.
W. H. Stout, Alexandria, Va.
Burdell L. Springer, Arlington, Va.
R. Morris, Saskatoon, Sask., Canada Harry C. Zeisloft, Brookfield, Wis.
Leo M. Geib, West Bend, Wis.

# 1. EAA Outstanding Design (Includes 25 silver dollar Nesmith award)

1st place—Ken Champion, Gobles, Michigan
For his "Jupiter" J-1
2nd place—Leeon Davis, Lake Village, Ind.
For his Davis DA-1
3rd place—Leland Bryan, Milford, Michigan
For his Bryan 2 Roadable

# 2. EAA Outstanding Workmanship (Includes 25 silver dollar Nesmith award and Whitney tool kit)

1st place—L. Warren Carter & Joseph Mathias,
Norfolk, Va.
For their Druine D.31 Turbulent
2nd place—Van White, Lubbock, Texas
For his Cougar
3rd place—Chris Smith, Holland, Michigan
For his modified Stits Playboy

#### 3. EAA Flight Performance — Short Take-off

1st place—Pete Myers, Oaklawn, Illinois 2nd place—Jack Cornes, Highland Park, Illinois

#### 4. EAA Flight Performance—Spot Landing

1st place—Joe Mathias, Norfolk, Va. 2nd place—Jerry Quarton, Galt, Calif.

#### 5. EAA Flight Performance—Fastest Acceleration

1st place—Jerry Quarton, Galt, Calif. 2nd place—Pete Myers, Oaklawn, Ill.

#### 6. EAA Flight Performance—Slow Flight

1st place—William Roberts, Granger, Minn. 2nd place—Lester Zehr, Fort Wayne, Ind.

#### 7. EAA Flight Performance—Grand Award

1st place-Jack Cornes, Highland Park, Ill.

# Awards and Trophies

# 8. EAA Award for Greatest Distance Flown to Fly-in (Includes 25 silver dollar Nesmith award)

1st place—Don Smith, Fullerton, Calif. (2100 miles) 2nd place—Jerry Quarton, Galt, Calif. (1750 miles)

# EAA Outstanding Restoration of Antique (Includes 25 silver dollar Nesmith award and Whitney tool kit.)

1st place—Marion McClure, Bloomington, Ill. For his Rearwin Junior Model 3000

### 10. EAA Award for Outstanding Service

To Richard I. Forrest, Mount Vernon, N. Y. for his work on FAA regulations

# 11. EAA Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Homebuilt Movement

To Renati Levi, Bombay, India for promoting homebuilding in his country

## 12. EAA Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Homebuilt Movement

To Hugo Ericson, Tansbyn, Sweden, for promoting homebuilding in his country

#### 13. EAA Recognition Awards

To Harold Best-Deveroux, Popular Flying Association of Great Britain for his world-wide promotion of the amateur-built aircraft movement

To Dorothy Wittman, Oshkosh, Wis. in appreciation for her devoted support of sport and amateur aviation

To Robert Burbick, Arlington, Va. for his devoted support of sport and amateur aviation

To Chester R. Wellman, Rockford, Ill. for his outstanding work on the 1959 Fly-In

To Nick Roamer, Milwaukee, Wis. for his support of the amateur built aircraft movement

To Robert P. Selfridge, Rockford, Ill. for his progressive service to aviation

To Noel J. Becar, San Mateo, Calif. for outstanding service to EAA

To Truman C. Weaver, Fairborn, Ohio for outstanding service to EAA

To Wes & Julie Schmid, Milwaukee, Wis. for outstanding service to EAA

To Richard Fischbach, Washington, D. C. for outstanding service to EAA

To Joseph Kirk, Rockford, Ill. for outstanding service to EAA

# 14. Mechanix Illustrated Award for Outstanding Achievement

To Keith Hill and Rye Kemman, Beloit, Wis. for their helicopter project

## 15. Trecker Aircraft Corp. Award

To St. Rita's H. S. Junior Chapter 39, Chicago, Ill. for advancement of aviation education

### 16. Piper Aircraft Corp. Award

To Col. Marion Unruh, Pretty Prairie, Kansas for advancement of aviation education

### 17. Beech Aircraft Corp. Award

To Georges Jacquemin, Streetsville, Ontario, Canada for advancement of aviation education

#### 18. Cessna Aircraft Co. Award

To Robert Whittier, Osterville, Mass. for advancement of aviation education

#### 19. Autocar, Inc. Award

To Leonard Eaves, Oklahoma City, Okla. for outstanding design advancement

#### 20. Stolp-Adams Award

To Steve Wittman, Oshkosh, Wis. for outstanding individual contribution to the amateur built aircraft movement

## 21. Bensen Aircraft Corp. Award for Outstanding Rotary Wing Aircraft

To Clifford Anderson, Waukegan, Ill. for his Bensen Gyro-Copter

## 22. Ace Aircraft Mfg. Co. Award for Outstanding Baby Ace Aircraft

To Jesse Rosse, Fremont, Ind.

#### 23. Wittman Award for Best Tailwind

1st Place—Bud Harwood, Rockford, Ill. 2nd Place—Everett Schermerhorn, Rochester, Minn.



Tonie Harwood



Rita Eaves



**Dorothy Wittman** 



Joe Kirk



**Dorothy Smith** 



Carter and Mathias



**Bob Whittier** 



Julie and Wes Schmid

#### 24. Stits Award for Best Stits Aircraft

1st place — Ed Emanuel, West Bend, Wis. 2nd place—Chris Smith, Holland, Mich. 3rd place—Keith Hopkinson, Goderich, Ontario, Canada

# 25. Rattray Pylon Award for Outstanding Wooden Aircraft

To L. Warren Carter and Joe Mathias, Norfolk, Va. for their Druine Turbulent

### 26. Miami Valley Chapter 48 Award

To Don Simmons, Moncton, N. B., Canada for outstanding promotion of EAA in Canada

#### 27. Beloit Travel Service Award

To Val Brugger, Hales Corners, Wis. for his devoted service to EAA

## 28. Ray Stits "Mink Coat" Award to EAA Wives

To Barbara Teinert, Bountiful, Utah for her enthusiastic support of chapter work

To Clara Loving, Detroit, Mich. for her support of EAA activities

To Mary Ann Nelson, Seattle, Wash. for her early promotional work in EAA

To Jean Owl, Gardena, Calif. for her enthusiastic support of EAA chapter work

To Tonie Harwood, Rockford, Ill. for helping Bud build his Tailwind

To Rita Eaves, Oklahoma City, Okla. for helping Leonard build his Cougar

## A C Spark Plug Div. Awards for Best Static Displays

1st place-George Rattray, Beloit, Wis.

2nd place-Bill Sheperd, Chicago, Ill.

3rd place-Ken Casson, Rockford, Ill.

4th place-Joe Kirk, Rockford, Ill.

5th place—Richard Buck, Aurora, Ill.

EAA photos by Randy Barnes



Awards Committee at work



Some of the 1959 Trophies