Stay Inspired

EAA is your guide to getting the most out of the world of flight and giving your passion room to grow.

Chapter 983’s New Master Pilots Honored

  • EAA
    Newly awarded Wright Brothers Master Pilots from EAA Chapter 983 include (from left, front row) Jerome McChristian, David Guinn, Bob Satterwhite, Bill Rose, Larry Hale, and Ed Brown. Row 2, Charlie Hamilton, FAA SW Region FAASTeam, Robert Winegar, Mack Angel, Murray Sloan, Marv Jensen, Roe Walker, John Parks, and Joe Murphy, FAA DFW FAASTeam supervisor. Missing is Ray Nasypany.

November 13, 2014 - During its regular monthly meeting November 8, EAA Chapter 983 of Pecan Plantation, Granbury, Texas, 13 of its members received the FAA’s prestigious Wright Brothers Master Pilot award. Presented by the FAA Safety Team (FAASTeam), the award honors pilots who have been certificated and flying for 50 consecutive years without an accident, incident, or infraction.

It’s thought to be the most recipients ever to be honored in one ceremony in Texas and likely the entire country, according to Joe Murphy, local FAA Safety Team leader. Nicknamed the “Brazos Valley Bunch,” the chapter has six other Master Pilots for a total of 19, plus another four candidates who are eligible to apply for the award.

Murphy and Charlie Hamilton, FAA southwest region point of contact for the FAASTeam, were on hand to present the awards to Mack Angel, EAA 211971; David Guinn, EAA 441451; Larry Hale, EAA 107106; Marv Jensen, EAA 420767; Jerome McChristian, EAA 451902; Ray Nasypany, EAA 474678; John Parks, EAA 140293; Billy Rose, EAA 110449; Bob Satterwhite, EAA 420441; Murray Sloan, EAA 795562; and Roe Walker, EAA 536104.

To provide a better user experience, EAA uses cookies. To review EAA's data privacy policy or adjust your privacy settings please visit: Data and Privacy Policy.