Hands, Mind, and Heart

What started as a handful of passionate enthusiasts has developed into a major force—and a significant component—of the aircraft industry.

Tony Bingelis Award Guidelines & Nomination Form

The Tony Bingelis Award recognizes EAA technical counselors for dedicated service and/or significant contributions in assisting members to build and restore aircraft. Recipients of the Tony Bingelis Award are carefully chosen by a committee of their peers as outstanding examples of people whose contributions have positively affected members’ aircraft building or restoration projects.


  • Recognize select EAA Technical Counselors who have endeavored to educate and encourage fellow EAA members with the aircraft projects;
  • Provide for an appropriate forum in which to celebrate the recipients and present their award;
  • Commemorate the honorees with a permanent display at the EAA AirVenture Museum in Oshkosh, Wisconsin.


  • Nominees must have been an active and current technical counselor for at least five consecutive years.
  • Nominees must be submitted by others for consideration via the formal application process.
  • Nominees must have achieved and demonstrated significant contributions in the education and facilitation of aircraft building projects such as:
    • Promoting builder education through publications, visits to aircraft projects, chapter meetings and air shows Promoting aviation safety
    • Promoting the benefits as well as maintaining the standards of the Experimental Aircraft Association. Nominees are open to any eligible candidate, living or deceased.


Invitations for nominations for the Tony Bingelis Award are announced via EAA media and direct communication with the EAA chapters and technical counselors.

Any EAA chapter or EAA member in good standing may initiate a nomination by contacting EAA headquarters, request the Tony Bingelis Award packet, and submit a qualifying candidate.

Nominations to the Tony Bingelis Award must be submitted to the EAA Safety Programs office on the Tony Bingelis Award Nominations Form, along with any other supporting documentation, by March 1 of each year.

Nominations to the Tony Bingelis Award postmarked after March 1 of each year will be considered for the following year.

Nomination Form

Judging Criteria

Nominees for the Tony Bingelis Award must have achieved and demonstrated significant contributions to education and facilitation of homebuilt aircraft projects. A panel of 5 judges scores each nominee on a scale of 1 to 10 in specific categories, as listed below. Please remember that only the information submitted to the judges is used to rate each nominee. The more information you submit for each category, the better score a nominee may receive.

  1. Promoting Builder Education
  • Publications
  • Visits to Aircraft Projects
  • Chapter Meetings
  • Work at Air Shows (i.e. forums, workshops)
  • Leadership Among Peers (Other Technical Counselors)
  1. Promoting Overall Aviation Safety
  2. Promoting the Benefits and Standards of EAA

Selection Process

Evaluation Criteria

  • Nominees will be evaluated on the basis of achievements and/or contributions of major significance to aircraft building and restoration; Inductees will be selected no later than May 1st of each year.

Selection Committee

  • The Tony Bingelis Award selection committee will be appointed annually by the EAA staff.
  • The selection committee shall consist of no more than five members, who are selected from EAA technical counselor ranks, one representative may be the previous year’s winner(s).
  • The selection committee chairperson will be selected by staff.
  • Selection committee members may not be a candidate for the award themselves or submit a candidate’s name for consideration for the award.

Award Presentation(s)

In order to ensure the high status associated with the Tony Bingelis Award and to preserve the long-term integrity of the potential pool of inductees, as well as to contain costs associated with such awards, no more than two inductees will be awarded during any given year.

The inductees (or their heirs/or representatives as appropriate) will be notified no later than May 31 each year. Coordination of the awards and ceremonies with EAA staff will be handled by the selection committee chairperson.

The award ceremony will be held during EAA AirVenture. Admission and lodging for two nights to attend AirVenture will be provided by EAA to the award winner and their spouse or guest (or to an heir and/or representative as appropriate).


These Tony Bingelis Award guidelines are subject to review and/or revision as directed by the EAA Homebuilt Aircraft Council.

To provide a better user experience, EAA uses cookies. To review EAA's data privacy policy or adjust your privacy settings please visit: Data and Privacy Policy.