EAA at Your Local Airport

Education, hands-on activities, friendship, fun, and fly-ins. Find them near you.

Chapter and Young Eagle Award Winners Announced

August 2020 – Traditionally, EAA celebrates the chapter and Young Eagles award winners at EAA AirVenture Oshkosh. Due to the cancellation of the event, this year's winners were announced during a special live segment, which was a part of EAA's Spirit of Aviation Week. Ten EAA chapter leaders and five Young Eagles volunteers were recognized for their significant contributions to the promotion of general aviation in their home communities.

View the presentation of chapter web editor, newsletter editor, and major achievement awards, as well as Young Eagles coordinator, ground volunteers, and Phillips 66 leadership awards. The presentation also includes messages from Young Eagles co-chairmen Sean D. Tucker and Jimmy Graham.

2020 Outstanding Chapter Young Eagles Coordinator: Re'Jeana Craft, EAA 882663, EAA Chapter 1522.

2020 Outstanding Ground Support Volunteer: Robert Davis, EAA 96899, EAA Chapter 20, and Ted McNamara, EAA 74556, EAA Chapter 20.

Phillips 66 Young Eagles Leadership Award: Dave Jennen, EAA 613225, and Bonnie Jennen, EAA 756918, from EAA Chapter 1174.

The Chapter Newsletter Editor Award for excellence in creating newsletters and dispersing chapter news to members was given to the following:

  • Andrea McGilvray, EAA 1271412, EAA Chapter 35
  • Helen Brand, EAA 1116190, EAA Chapter 512
  • Jerry Thomas, EAA 194574, EAA Chapter 932

The Chapter Web Editor Award is given based on a chapter website's ease of navigation, its ability to help users locate contact information, and the sharing of current chapter events and news. Three chapter web editors received the award:

  • Ralph Ketter, EAA89445, EAA Chapter 251
  • Roger Shaw, EAA 1239531, EAA Chapter 517
  • Susan Bell, EAA 1191070/IAC 438132, IAC Chapter 26

The Chapter Major Achievement Award, which is presented to individuals with long records of outstanding service to their EAA chapters and local aviation communities, was awarded to the following:

  • Dave Doherty, EAA 119064, EAA Chapter 32
  • Steven Jones, EAA 1133009, EAA Chapter 35
  • Brad Stinebring, EAA 882455, EAA Chapter 729
  • Tracy Rhodes, EAA 54473, EAA Chapter 1361

Check out the awards video here!

Congratulations to all the 2020 Chapter Award winners!

To provide a better user experience, EAA uses cookies. To review EAA's data privacy policy or adjust your privacy settings please visit: Data and Privacy Policy.