Post-Secondary Scholarships

Through many generous donors, EAA awards more than $75,000 in scholarships for students attending a post-secondary institution with a focus on aviation, including pilot training, aeronautics engineering, aviation management, airframe and powerplant (A&P) maintenance, and more.

All applications are reviewed against the criteria for the individual grants and then awarded to those who show the greatest potential to be actively engaged in aviation.

Visit the EAA scholarships page for the current open scholarships cycles.

EAA strives to provide scholarships that have a minimum award of $5,000. Awards are made up of the following funds:

  • Harry E. Arcamuzi Aviation Scholarship
  • Michael Blume Memorial Scholarship
  • Jack Burnham Scholarship
  • Fred & Diane Fitts Scholarship by CAA
  • Gerald “Jerry” Holland Scholarship
  • H.P. “Bud” Milligan Aviation Scholarship
  • David Mineck Memorial Scholarship
  • Cdr John Paradiso Scholarship for Women in Aviation/Aerospace*
  • Payzer Scholarship
  • David Alan Quick Scholarship
  • John Sandberg A & P Scholarship
  • Morgan Brittany Smith Memorial Scholarship*
  • Richard Lee Vernon Aviation Scholarship

*For more information, visit the EAA GirlVenture Camp page.

Additional Details and FAQ's

Post-secondary scholarships may be used for collegiate level programs in the U.S. including but not limited to: aerospace, aviation training, aerospace or aeronautical engineering, aviation management, air traffic control, A&P certification, commercial airline pilot, or any STEM field.

Post-secondary scholarships must be used within one year from the date of award. Since you have to use the funds within one year of award, you must be eligible for the flight training process. There are no other age requirements.

You do not need to be a current EAA member.

Once the scholarship application cycle opens, which is noted on our website, the application is available to read and complete. Please see for information on cycle dates.

Applications closed at 4:59 p.m. Eastern Time on January 31, 2021. Scholarships will be awarded in February 2021.

We encourage individuals from all countries to apply. However, all scholarship awards must be used at a post-secondary institution within the U.S.

All winners and non-winners will be notified by email approximately one month after a scholarship cycle closes.

If I do not win a scholarship, how can I improve my chances for next time? When filling out an application, the more “yes” responses to asked questions (ie, EAA member, chapter member, volunteer jobs, etc.) will make your application stand out. In addition, each essay should answer all parts of the question (and contain great content), flow well, and have correct grammar and spelling. 

If you win a scholarship, you will be sent an email with documents for completion. Once EAA has received these, the disbursement process will begin.

EAA will disburse the entire amount of the award directly to the post-secondary institution.

To provide a better user experience, EAA uses cookies. To review EAA's data privacy policy or adjust your privacy settings please visit: Data and Privacy Policy.