Stay Connected. Stay Informed.

The latest news and the greatest photo galleries and videos.

2019 Founder’s Innovation Prize Finalists Announced

  • Founder's Innovation Prize
  • Ed Wischmeyer, EAA 18879
    Ed Wischmeyer, EAA 18879
  • Ethan Brodsky, EAA 1068330
    Ethan Brodsky, EAA 1068330
  • Carl Lawrence, EAA 666030
    Carl Lawrence, EAA 666030
  • Rudy Moore, EAA 673269
    Rudy Moore, EAA 673269
  • Jack Hohner, EAA 170715
    Jack Hohner, EAA 170715

July 16, 2019 - The Founder's Innovation Prize judges have chosen five finalists to present their solutions for lowering the in-flight loss-of-control accident rate in a Shark Tank-style program during "An Evening With Innovators — The Founder’s Innovation Prize" at Theater in the Woods on Tuesday evening during EAA AirVenture Oshkosh 2019.

The finalists will share their innovative ideas in front of the five judges and compete for a grand prize of $25,000. The five finalists include:

Ed Wischmeyer, EAA 18879
Savannah, Georgia
"Reducing Loss of Control Accidents to Keep Our Friends Alive"

Ethan Brodsky, EAA 1068330
Madison, Wisconsin

Carl Lawrence, EAA 666030
Louisville, Colorado
"Enhanced Scenario-Based Training"

Rudy Moore, EAA 673269
Madison, Wisconsin
"Situational Awareness Trainer"

Jack Hohner, EAA 170715
Spokane, Washington
"FeelFlight Grip"

Additionally, the judges selected two entrants as honorable mentions:

Andrew Anunson, EAA 815538
Pound, Virginia
"HoldFast System"

Glen Hisert, EAA 1278315
Fonda, New York
"Aero-Pilot Dynamics"

This year's competition will be emceed by Heather Penney, senior resident fellow at The Mitchell Institute for Aerospace Studies. Alongside Penney will be a collection of aviation all-stars to serve as the competition's judging panel, including Charlie Precourt, space shuttle commander; Pat Anderson, professor at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University; Gregory Feith, former senior air safety investigator with the National Transportation Safety Board; Dave Morss, renowned test pilot; and Dick VanGrunsven, CEO of Van's Aircraft.

EAA's "An Evening With Innovators — The Founder’s Innovation Prize" will take place on Tuesday, July 23, starting at 7 p.m. during AirVenture 2019. The Founder’s Innovation Prize is presented by Airbus with additional support from DS SolidWorks.

To provide a better user experience, EAA uses cookies. To review EAA's data privacy policy or adjust your privacy settings please visit: Data and Privacy Policy.