EAA AirVenture Oshkosh

There's a reason it's known as the World's Greatest Aviation Celebration®.

August Raspet Award

Since 1960, the Dr. August Raspet Memorial Award has been presented every year to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of light aircraft design.

The award is named for the late Dr. August "Gus" Raspet, a professor at Mississippi State University and avid light aircraft enthusiast. Raspet was instrumental in elevating the aeronautical engineering program at Mississippi A&M College, as it was originally known, into one of the nation's preeminent aerophysics research centers. The Raspet Flight Research Laboratory in Starkville, Miss. - a tribute to all of his efforts - was completed in 1962.

The first recipient of the award was John Thorp, Lockheed engineer on the Little Dipper and Big Dipper, and designer of the Thorp Aviation Sky Skooter. Since then the list of people honored reads like a Who's Who of aircraft design.

Past recipients:

2023 Ivo Boscarol and Pipistrel Team
2022 Garmin
2021 Jim Rust
2020 No Award - AirVenture Canceled
2019 Marcus Leng
2018 Greg Cole
2017 Craig Catto
2016 Paulo Iscold
2015 John and Jeremy Monnett
2014 Troy Woodland
2013    BRP Rotax Engines
2012    Michael Coates
2011    James Wiebe
2010    Ken Krueger
2009    Rodney Stiff
2008    Randall Fishman
2007    Greg Toman
2006    Gordon Pratt and Ricardo Price / Chelton Flight Systems
2005    Chuck Bilbe and Jim Younkin
2004    Phil Lockwood
2003    Pete Buck
2002    Randy Schlitter
2001 Harry Riblett
2000    Rotary Air Force
1999    RotorWay International
1998    Dan Wilson
1997    Jim Rahm, Al Joniec
1996   Stoddard-Hamilton GlaStar Design Team
1995    Ivan Shaw
1994    Paul Fiduccia
1993    CAFE Foundation
1992    Alan and Dale Klapmeier
1991    Dan Denney
1990    John Roncz
1989    Jim Griswold
1988    Homer Kolb
1987 Lance Neibauer
1986 Mark D. Brown
1985  Tom Hamilton
1984    B. J. Schramm
1983 Mike Smith
1982   Dick Wagner
1981    Tony Bingelis
1980   Dick VanGrunsven
1979    John Monnett
1978    Chris Heintz
1977   Lou Stolp
1976  Burt Rutan
1975 M. B. "Molt" Taylor
1974    Paul Poberezny
1973   Bob Bushby
1972 Bernard Pietenpol
1971   Jim Bede
1970 Ladislao Pazmany
1969  Curtiss Pitts
1968  Peter Bowers
1967   Robert Bushby
1966 Edgar Lesher
1965    None
1964    Richard E. Schreder
1963  Dr. Alexander Lippisch
1962 Ray Stits
1961   Steve Wittman
1960    John Thorp
To provide a better user experience, EAA uses cookies. To review EAA's data privacy policy or adjust your privacy settings please visit: Data and Privacy Policy.