EAA is hiring AirVenture and seasonal staff. Attend one of our upcoming hiring events and apply now!

Stay Connected. Stay Informed.

The latest news and the greatest photo galleries and videos.

Pelton Outlines Homebuilt Changes at Annual Meeting

By Ti Windisch, EAA Staff Writer

July 25, 2018 - EAA CEO and Chairman of the Board Jack J. Pelton covered a wide spectrum of EAA matters during his remarks at the 2018 annual meeting on Wednesday morning, including changes coming to rejuvenate the Homebuilts area on the grounds after EAA AirVenture Oshkosh 2018.

“The Homebuilts area, that’s our next area of focus,” Jack said. “The Federal Pavilion that’s down the road will be removed post AirVenture, and we’re going to repurpose the area to have it more like the Vintage area and the Warbirds area where there’s Homebuilt in Review kinds of activities and have it be a more visually pleasing area.”

Jack also addressed problems with arrivals earlier in the week due to weather, and said that EAA Vice Chairman of the Board Charlie Precourt, EAA Lifetime 150237, will put a committee together to address arrivals problems after AirVenture concludes.

“We recognize that some of the procedures that are in our NOTAM are not sufficient for when the airport goes IFR,” Jack said. “We are very well aware and have had many discussions about the holding that took place, and the general issues associated with getting in. We’re going to work on that.”

After Jack’s remarks, EAA Treasurer Stuart Auerbach, EAA 689374, updated the members in attendance about EAA’s 2018 fiscal year. Stuart said EAA brought in $48.1 million in income against $41.8 million in expenses and was in a good position financially.

“Fiscal ’18 results are consistent with our long-term plan to improve the financial strength of the organization and invest in programs and activities that give value to the membership and drive forward progress of our mission,” Stuart said.

Barry Davis, EAA Lifetime 389226, Ken McKenzie, EAA Lifetime 1181112, Darren Pleasance, EAA Lifetime 582487, Dan Schwinn, EAA 360170, Louis Seno Jr., EAA Lifetime 31489, and Alan Shackleton, EAA Lifetime 189346, were elected to serve three-year terms on the board as Class I directors. Heather Penney, EAA 1266991, was elected by the board as a Class III director to a one-year term.

To provide a better user experience, EAA uses cookies. To review EAA's data privacy policy or adjust your privacy settings please visit: Data and Privacy Policy.